Life isn’t always comfortable but that doesn’t mean it can’t be amazing.

Welcome to The Cwtch, a personal blog featuring the good, the bad, and the ugly.  I am Beth, your host for the duration of your visit.  I am a 30-something, single parent to five young humans, freelance PA, history student (on a break), writer, thinker, Brownie Guide leader, and voracious reader. 

In August 2020, we relocated from South Monmouthshire to a rural village along the Powys-Shropshire border and I have never felt more at home. 

A to Z of me

A I spend time advocating for children with additional needs.  One had a severe speech delay that required years of speech therapy while another has Di George Syndrome.

B I have been a member of Girlguiding UK for most of my life.  I have recently taken on the running of the village Brownie and can’t wait for the new challenge.

C I have three cats.  Gwennie is our biggest girl, she was the one who reminded how great cats are.  Our newest additions are Caesar and Alfie and I love them just as much.

D Something I haven’t been able to do recently is start dating again.  It is something that appeals to me, meeting someone new, but I’m not sure I want to share my space again.

E I like to consider myself somewhat of an egalitarian, upholding the rights of all people equality.  It goes hand in hand with my recent realisation of feminism.

F Setting up as a freelance PA in May 2018 was the first step towards independence and played a part in the eventual oust from the house.

G I have a whole host of activities I find enjoyable.  However, I regularly come back to my favourite of them all – genealogy.  

H Genealogy brings me neatly to one of my other passions – history – the two fit together so well and I love this fact.

I I value my independence highly.  Since my marriage ended in 2018, I have taken great pleasure in my growing independence and being able to enjoy life on my own.

J According to a quiz I completed, on of my strengths is that I am non-judgemental… It’s interesting because I find myself having to reign in some judgements.

K I am a big fan of knowledge.  I often go out of my way to learn new things and I don’t stop until I’m satisfied I understand it.

L I am a member of the Labour party.  Not because I believe in everything they say, but because they are the political party most closely aligned to my own beliefs.

M Over the years I have experienced a few mental health issues and, while I believe I have them under control, I know they can rear their head at any time.

N I actually use a nom de plume on this blog… The first name is accurate… the second is taken from a family of Cornish ancestors.

O I started studying with the Open University in 2010 and am within touching distance of completing my degree.  I’m on a break at the moment but I will return in October 2021.

P Moving to Powys has been the best thing I have ever done.  I first fell in love with the county exactly 2 years before when we holidayed in Presteigne.

Q Although I pretend not to be, I have a tendency for quixotism.  I can be romantic and unrealistic, despite trying not to be.

R I am a voracious reader.  No book is out of bounds and I read both fiction and non-fiction, regularly swapping between the two.

S I am working on my self-development and have been for two years.  However, I don’t think it is a journey that will ever end.

T There is no act of nature that I love more than a thunderstorm.  I enjoy sitting outside in them and feeling the charge in the atmosphere.

U I would like to travel around the United Kingdom in campervan.  The kids laugh at me when I say as much – little do they know how serious I actually am.

V I enjoy playing Virtual Reality games.  My son recently had his first VR headset and it provides hours of entertainment.

W Writing has always been a passion of mine and I love to create stories as well as write down my thoughts about my life.

X I remember coming across the word xenophobia as a teen and not being able to understand the concept.  These days I understand the term but not the motivation.

Y I would love to practice yoga.  I try it out every now and then but never seem to stick at it.  Maybe this year that will change.

Z Astrology is a hobby of mine and I love the signs of the zodiac.  I am a Gemini sun, Taurus rising, and Aquarius moon.